Potvin Newsly

Thursday, April 10, 2008

The Comedy Fest

The week I spent in Melbourne watching the comedy festival there was really my favorite part of my trip to Australia. So here’s the highlights:

Best shows (that I saw):

  1. Pappy’s Fun Club
  2. Patton Oswalt (with Kristen Schaal & Kurt Braunohler, and David O’Doherty opening)
  3. Daniel Kitson

Best quotes (that I heard):

  • Kristen Schaal is a horse! (Kurt Braunohler in Kristen Schaal’s As You’ve Probably Never Seen Her Before!)
  • Do you guys drink water here? (Patton Oswalt)
  • It’s the Rock-naissance, bitch-olas! (The Delusionists in Everything That Ever Happened, Ever)
  • That’s two guys with five dicks each. (David O’Doherty in It’s David O’Doherty Time)
  • In addition to being a comedy butler, I used to do… SEX! (Asher Treleaven as Saxson the Comedy Butler in Ali McGregor’s Late Night Variety Nite-Night)
  • Where are you from, sir? SHUT THE FUCK UP!!! (Kurt Braunohler)
  • It sounds like he’s telling you to fuck off. (Daniel Kitson relaying a conversation between two audience members)
  • What did you do with old lady winter, father? / Let’s just say she’ll be tied up for awhile. / Oh, you tied her up? / I kicked her in the skull until she died. (Pig Island in Simply Fancy)
  • Oh good; see, normally he would just rape that woman, but now he rapes and pillages, so we make some money. (Pappy’s Fun Club)
  • Big Howard: You came in too soon! Little Howard: I’m sorry; it’s never happened before and I’m under a lot of stress. I don’t know what that means. (Howard Read and Little Howard in Little Howard and the Magic Pencil of Life and Death)

Best scents (that I smelled):

  • Vanilla
  • Lavender
  • Breakfast

I added the last one in just to make it seem worthwhile that I even bothered to have lists for two other items.  So there’s that.

Winnebago.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

